Thailand Introduces Visa-Free Entry for Sri Lankan Tourists and Others


Starting tomorrow, tourists from Sri Lanka and 35 other countries can travel to Thailand without a visa for stays of up to 60 days. This new policy, announced by Foreign Affairs Minister Ali Sabri, follows the Thai Cabinet’s approval of a series of visa promotions aimed at attracting more tourists.

The visa-free scheme is part of a broader initiative to boost Thailand’s economy, which heavily relies on tourism. According to Thai government spokesperson Chai Wacharonke, the number of countries eligible for visa-free entry has increased from 57 to 93.

Key points of the new visa policies include:

  • Visa-Free Entry: Tourists from Albania, Cambodia, China, India, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Laos, Mexico, Morocco, Panama, Romania, Sri Lanka, Uzbekistan, and others can now enter Thailand for up to 60 days without a visa.
  • Visa-on-Arrival: The list of countries eligible for visa-on-arrival has expanded from 19 to 31.
  • Work and Tourist Visas: Visitors wishing to work during their stay can obtain five-year visas for up to 180 days, extendable for another 180 days. This is aimed at digital technologists, freelancers, remote workers, and those interested in learning Muay Thai or Thai cuisine under the “Destination Thailand Visa” program.
  • Extended Stay for Students: Foreign students will be allowed to stay in Thailand for one year after graduation to seek employment in fields requiring skilled professionals.
  • Health Insurance: Reduction of compulsory health insurance for pensioners.

These measures will be effective from Saturday, June 1, 2024.

Share This Article
Leave a comment