Aravinda de Silva : A celebration of greatness

Shashinka Vidusara

Former Sri Lankan cricketer Aravinda de Silva, former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag and former Indian women’s cricketer Diana Edulji inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame on Monday.

The trio’s outstanding contributions to the sport will be celebrated with an on-field ceremony at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai during the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 semi-final.

One of the great batters to ever play the game, De Silva managed to set new standards in both Tests and ODI cricket, playing 401 times for Sri Lanka in a remarkable 19-year career.

De Silva amassed 6361 runs in 93 Tests at 42.97 while accumulated 9284 runs in 308 ODIs at 34.90. De Silva’s 1996 World Cup heroics not only changed his career but also changed the fortunes of Sri Lankan cricket.

He dominated Sri Lanka’s World Cup winning campaign 27 years ago, scoring 448 runs at a fabulous average of 89.60 and became the player of the final for his match-winning century in the title clash against Australian in Lahore.

Only three Sri Lankans – Muttiah Muralitharan (2017), Kumar Sangakkara (2021) and Mahela Jayawardene (2021) were inducted into ICC Hall of Fame prior to De Silva’s induction.

Share This Article
Leave a comment